On being a beginner

Being a beginner means being in a vulnerable place. It means not being able to control what will happen next because you have no idea how things work. That’s not easy for me. I’m fascinated by the idea of growing food on my balcony but have no idea what I’m doing really. The other day my boyfriend asked me how long it would be before we could cook a meal with the beans that I’m growing in his veranda… and I had no idea!  1 month? 3 months?? more?

My balcony with all its pots on 3rd of may 2013

My balcony with all its pots on 3rd of may 2013

I’m navigating this step by step. First I wanted to plant things, now they are planted, what next?   I’ve been reading my booklet from the Get down,get dirty course and the learning curve is steep. I’ve learnt a lot of new words and read the theory, but the hands-on practice is totally different. How much space do I need between plants? How much should I water them? Will they really be able to grow on my shady balcony?  And I have fears about not looking after them properly:  bugs can suck the sap out of my plants, or pigeons that love to snack on seedlings could swallow them…

Plastic to protect beans from hungry pigeons

Plastic to protect beans from hungry pigeons

So planting seeds is bringing me back into the moment. I just have to let go and wait and see. As with everything I will deal with any problems as they come up and learn the lessons by experience. It’s a good practice at not constantly trying to  have everything under control.

Leave a Reply

