Fun facts about fenugreek

One of the girls on the Cityplot course is from India and she brought some extra fenugreek seeds when we were all exchanging seeds. I had no idea what it was but the name sounded exotic and she was very enthusiastic about it so I decided to give it a try. Now the fenugreek is the most random thing growing on my balcony because though I know what beans, peas, carrots look like and how to cook them, but I don’t even know what fenugreek tastes like or what part of it you eat!

Fenugreek leaves

Fenugreek leaves

So I decided to do a little background research so I would be prepared for how to take care of the plant. Here are some fun facts about fenugreek:

  • it likes sun (hmmm, not great on my balcony) but should be able to grow in the shade (fingers crossed)
  • just a couple of months between sowing and harvesting for leaves, 4-6 months for seeds
  • harvest the leaves when the flowering begins
  • is an annual herb with a slightly sweet, nutty flavor often described as a cross between celery and maple (I can’t wait to try it!!)
Leave a Reply

