Super fresh greens

Tonight I cycled home from my Pilates class feeling very hungry after all that effort.  The organic supermarket near my house is closed at that time, so I couldn’t pop in to buy some fresh veggies.  I had a look in my fridge and didn’t have much apart from 2 tomatoes… As I went to water my plants on the balcony, I decided to pick some Swiss chard and a radish to cook myself some greens.

Lovely colours: Swiss chard

Lovely colours: Swiss chard

It’s really empowering to be able to pick fresh food off my balcony for dinner. Right now I do not have much growing that is ready to eat, but just this small improvised harvest made me really happy. I cooked up all the greens like spinach with some olive oil, a small chopped onion and the tomatoes. I added whole wheat pasta and it was really simple and delicious:) I’m realising I should have planted more salads and greens as they are really easy to grow, even with a lot of shade. Having access to food without going to the supermarket is an amazing feeling.

For my dinner: Swiss chard and a radish

For my dinner: Swiss chard and a radish

One thought on “Super fresh greens

Leave a Reply

