Carrot top pesto

As I move forward in the adventure of growing my own food, I’m realising that there is actually much more to eat in a plant than what I thought. Lately, I’ve cooked radish leaves, and also found out many flowers are edible. So I decided to investigate if it was possible to cook carrot tops, as I feel it was such a waste to be throwing out such fresh looking leaves from the carrots I grew with such effort.

Preparing carrot top pesto

Preparing carrot top pesto

So I looked online what I could make with carrot tops. The main suggestions were soup and pesto. Since it’s quite warm, I went for the pesto option. I’m not very good at following recipes, so I don’t have quantities but I guess you can adapt the recipe to your taste.

Ingredients: fresh carrot leaves, virgin olive oil, pine nuts, Parmesan cheese and garlic (I also added a few basil leaves).

Thoroughly wash the leaves. Pick the tender leaves off the stem and put them in a mixer bowl (the amount of leaves really diminishes when you blend them, like when you cook spinach). Add one clove of garlic, a splash of olive oil, some pine nuts and a little grated Parmesan. Blend it all together until it is nice and smooth.

Carrot top pesto

Carrot top pesto

I let it sit for one day in the fridge, then added it to wholewheat fusilli. The result was delicious! It tasted a little stronger than regular pesto. I’ll be making it again for sure.

2 thoughts on “Carrot top pesto

  1. Hey Fanny,

    I didn’t know I could eat carrot tops! Thanks for sharing your recipe. I always throw the leaves out, such a waste, apparently.
    I wonder if you’ve heard from Shannon Hayes’ book “Radical Homemakers”. I am currently reading it and since you write about how you want to “want to find out where my food is coming from, and learn to grow it” you might just find it very interesting.
    Through Amanda’s blog Soulemama I found your garden (balcony) notes. Here’s mine:
    http://www.pippiluna.com/2013/07/our-life-in-the-garden/

    ~ Aurora

Leave a Reply

