My autumn crops

Rucola

Rucola

Autumn has now definitely arrived in Amsterdam, the days are getting shorter, the sky is grey and the rain has been pouring down. I must say I haven’t been very active on my balcony, since I’ve been busy with my new job, visitors staying over and general life-rushing-by. I’ve been celebrating autumn eating pumpkin, one of my all time favorite vegetables. Unfortunately I can’t grow them on the limited space of my balcony.

Lettuce

Lettuce

Luckily I planted some seeds at the end of the summer and can still enjoy a few small crops from my balcony. Greens have been doing best on my north-east oriented balcony: rucola, lettuce and some struggling pea pods are my last survivors, though they’re growing much slower these days.

Pea pod

Pea pod

My faithful Swiss chard is going strong, it has been supplying me delicious leaves all summer. It has now turned a gorgeous deep purple colour. I’ve actually seen Swiss chard leaves for sale in bulk at the organic supermarket but they don’t look a fraction as appetising as the ones I cut fresh off the balcony.

Swiss chard

Swiss chard

Leave a Reply

