First signs of spring!

IMG_4146I absolutely love the arrival of spring after the dark winter months. This year we didn’t have a very cold winter in Amsterdam, but I am still amazed at how spring seems to come all of a sudden, and at how wonderful it feels when the days start getting longer. I really enjoy that there is now daylight when I get on my bike and leave the office, and I can see the fading sunlight along the canals on my ride home.

IMG_4158Close to my flat there is this round-about  that comes into bloom every year in February with thousands of crocuses.  I like the contrast of the bare trees with the splashes of colour on the ground.  Seeing these little flowers really warms my heart because they are the first signs telling me the worst of the winter is behind me.  I can’t wait to be sitting in the park and enjoying the sunshine after work soon, as the days get longer and longer.

One thought on “First signs of spring!

Leave a Reply

